Good Morning, May I take your Photo?

Good Morning, May I take your Photo?

 

Do you have apologists?

You are out visiting or on holiday with friends or family and you stop to grab a few photos. You wonder off down a side street. They stand there, hands on hips, tapping a foot.

“He likes to take photos.” They say to each other as if you are a trainspotter or a precocious child that has to be humoured. “He’ll probably grow out of it.”

“It would be all right if we actually ever got to see any of them!” They mutter to each other, and on your return they complain that they’re getting hungry and that we’re already late for lunch.

At lunch while you are flicking through the pictures that you’ve just taken, you will be asked if you have any ‘good ones’, and when you proudly show them a portrait that you’ve captured they glance at it and then complain that the waiter hasn’t arrived to take your order.

Depressing isn’t it!

That’s why I sneak out of bed before dawn, walking the streets, hoping that I can negotiate and persuade, in order to capture a street portrait without the hindrance of my family and friends standing behind me with their arms folded across their chests, having their patience tried, or having them walk on through the crowd until you lose sight of them altogether.

That happened in Panjim in Goa. I lost my friends and almost got attacked by a dog that was guarding its territory in a back lane.

Here though, it was all smiles as I explored tiny courtyards in Udaipur, while my friends slumbered on in our hotel.

Your best photography is done when you are out on your own……..

 

 

10 thoughts on “Good Morning, May I take your Photo?

Leave a Reply

