The Rat Catcher

The Rat Catcher

 

I was busy photographing the still waters of Lake Pichola from this footbridge in Udaipur just before sunrise when I heard a sound from behind me. The sound I heard was a ‘plop’ as something landed in the water. I turned to see a woman bending over, a trap in her hand. There wasn’t time to think as I fired off four shots but even at 125th of a second I failed to get a decent shot as another rat made its bid for freedom. In the blink of an eye a glimpse of Indian life passed before me, leaving me with more questions than answers about how people live and work in order to survive.

She was letting them go. Even though they are vermin and would probably be killed almost anywhere else, this woman demonstrated by her actions that those rats had a right to life.

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Rat Catcher

Leave a Reply

