Dashashwamedh Ghat

Dashashwamedh Ghat

 

This is the main Ghat in Varanasi where one evening as daylight slipped away we attended the Aarti fire and incense daily offering which was a very spiritual experience.

It’s also the ghat where we returned one dark and humid night after I was heaving over the side of our rowing boat. That was the day when I’d had diarrhoea and was completely out of it.

My friends had to help me up the steps. I would never had made it on my own. I suppose we have to celebrate both those aspects of travelling in India, the rough with the smooth, the highs and lows. To be truthful there have not been many lows, and always plenty of highs.

You tend to remember the lows!

 

 

9 thoughts on “Dashashwamedh Ghat

Leave a Reply

