The Toy Shop

The Toy Shop

 

This is Ronnie’s shop.

Ronnie’s shop is full of interest and character, like no other.

This was a difficult shot against the light and from a dark corner, with the result that much effort was required through processing to achieve a passable image. I feel as though, with pictures like this, that I’ve reached a boundary; a tipping point. From a photo purist’s point of view it’s not something that you would capture on a Hasselblad. From a purist stance it’s over processed and the high ISO has resulted in quite a bit of noise, that had to be smoothed and then hidden by some added grain. His head is distorted by the light entering through the window and the white vignette somehow dissipates and bleeds the image out of the picture edges.

Was it a step too far when I signed up to Ansel Adam’s edict that ‘pictures are made, not taken’?

How far should I go in ‘making an image’?

…………as far as necessary, I say…….

 

 

9 thoughts on “The Toy Shop

      • As far as I need to… All my work is pretty obvious. And, I humbly suggest that if St. Ansel were alive today he’d be bending and twisting his images to show his emotional intent.

        • Hmmm……I should have looked at your recent work Ray, before I asked my silly question!

          You have a confidence with colour that I don’t have and you take risks or explore further than I might imagine when confronted with a new image. I like that.

          It’s inevitable that we explore different environments and yours has an ‘ethnic’ quality that I have found only when travelling abroad.

          Apart from that I see you using colour filtering and layering, often achieving a ‘colour supplement’ quality that reminds me of the Sunday Times supplements of the 70s. Very nice.

  1. John, I really like the detail in this image. Each bin, the cash register and the toy maker seem to have a story. Post processing is almost an inevitable part of digital photography. You need it to get that picture right. (As it was with film.) I think you’ve done a good job in restoring the man. I’m using Lightroom CC/6 and find it gives me a lot of flexibility in bringing out the best in images. This is particularly true with those images that you really want to keep but the subject was in the most difficult location – such as this one.
    Yes, I like this image much better than the last one.

Leave a Reply

